Settling In

Having spent five months of my Year Abroad in the beautiful Valencia, I was somewhat anxious as to what my experience would be when I moved to Sardinia.

Sardinia is undoubtably beautiful but in comparison to Valencia it is a lot smaller, making it quite a quaint city.

The first week of me being here was full of awkward unrest. I so desperately wanted something to do, but nothing started until the following week.

Many days were spent wandering around aimlessly or looking in a few shops (okay, maybe a lot of shops) I was undoubtably bored.

I couldn’t remember having felt so useless during my whole stay in Valencia, I had always felt comfortable and at home in the busier city. Maybe I was doing it intentionally? I had had such a good time in Valencia, maybe I didn’t like the possibility that I could have an even better time in Cagliari?

Eventually Monday came around and with it the first ‘activity’ of ESN. And I have to admit I was excited, because it meant that finally I would be doing something.

Erasmus Student Network (ESN) is a non-profit international student organisation. Our mission is to represent international students, thus provide opportunities for cultural understanding and self-development under the principle of Students Helping Students.

The first activity was just a general meeting conducted by members of the University here and some of the members of ESN. Afterwards there was something like a mixer for the incoming students, a way for people to get to know each other which proved to be very effective.

The rest of this week will be spent partaking in activities that will be organised by ESN with the aim to connect people and so that they have an enjoyable time during their stay in Cagliari.

Finally, after over a week, I feel like I am starting to settle in. Slowly but surely Sardinia will become a place that I will consider home.

dsc_0017-copy

Leave a Reply

